Brass Quintet + String Quartet + Percussion = Prokofiev Goodness

Last Friday, I attended a recital-masterclass of the Boston Brass at the University of Toronto.  Providence and co-incidences came together to have me attend this.  It was on a Friday and I just found out about it on Thursday night while at orchestra rehearsal.  There was a snow squall warning for home, so I stayed in TO.

I took notes of some gem concepts for musicians and I got to meet Andrew Hitz!  What a fantastic player and monster machine on the tuba.  He’s all about listening.  His opening greeting to the audience was about taking advantage of the internet and listening to just about anything you can listen to on the web (youtube, spotify, etc…).  If you’re not listening and learning, then someone else is and that person will have an advantage over you in technique and auditions.

So today I searched “prokofiev brass” to see what I could find to give me a hand with the Dance of the Knights in orchestra.  I found this.  😀

What am I watching for?  At time 2:21, the low f minor Knights.  I’m looking at his breathing and how it avoids breaking the musical line.  He’s not trying to tear down the walls either.  It’s musical and forte.  Plain and simple.

Leave a Reply

